Task Force Members

The Task Force comprises seventeen leaders drawn from the financial, technology. policy. regulatory and international
development communities.


Minister of Digital Economy and Communications, Government of Benin

Aurelie Adam Soule Zoumarou is a skilled telecommunications and ICT professional with extensive industry experience. She began her career with SFR France before moving to Accenture France as a consultant in information systems. She returned to Benin in 2008 and worked at the regulator’s office ARCEP BENIN, where her responsibilities included but were not limited to radio-communications and radio frequencies management. She additionally played an active role in the participation of Benin and Africa in the 2015 ITU World Conference. Challenges Ms. Zoumarou has taken up in the past have earned her a place in the team in charge of the GSMA’s involvement with governments, regulators and regional organizations in Africa. As senior policy manager for Africa, she contributed to bringing mobile services to the 635 million Africans without an internet connection.

Ms. Zoumarou obtained a master’s degree with a focus on telecoms and ICT engineering from Telecom Sud Paris and also holds a Certificate in Management of Public Policies and Leadership from Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public affairs of Syracuse University (New York). She is a Mandela Washington Fellow (MWF/YALI), an initiative of former US President Barack Obama for Young African Leaders.

In October 2017, the President of the Republic of Benin, His Excellency Patrice Talon appointed Ms. Zoumarou as Minister of Digital Economy and Communications with the mission of: making Benin a digital services platform for West Africa, in order to accelerate growth and achieve social inclusion