Task Force Members

The Task Force comprises seventeen leaders drawn from the financial, technology. policy. regulatory and international
development communities.


Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, UN DESA

Mr. Liu is the Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs effective 26 July 2017. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Liu was Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs of China since 2013.  Among his various diplomatic assignments, he served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the People’s Republic of China to the United Nations Office at Geneva and other International Organizations in Switzerland.

Mr. Liu brings to the position more than 30 years of experience in the diplomatic service, with a strong focus on the promotion of bilateral, regional and global issues.  He was deeply involved for 10 years in climate change negotiations including the conclusion of the Kyoto Protocol and the Paris Agreement.  He also widely participated in the international activities on the protection of our planet including Antarctica and the oceans.  Over the last several years, in various capacities, he has been consistently highlighting and advocating for sustainable development issues.